Indian Fiction

Men and Dreams in the Dhauladhar by Kochery C. Shibu #BookReview

The cover of this book looks very dreamy, mystical, quiet and beautiful. Now let me decribe the content within the book to you.  The plot of the book goes like this: AM Hydro project is the common thread between three people brought together by fate: Nanda, Khusru and Rekha. If you notice the cover image… Continue reading Men and Dreams in the Dhauladhar by Kochery C. Shibu #BookReview

Advertisements
Christmas Reads, Fiction, Short stories, YA Fiction

My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories #ChristmasReads

Fans of Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman, Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han, Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de la Pena, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Laini Taylor and Kiersten White, rejoice. You can read short stories by your favourite YA authors (specially those of you who have read all the works by the above authors, and… Continue reading My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories #ChristmasReads

Memoir

If I Had To Tell It Again by Gayathri Prabhu #BookReview

This book is not going to be everyone's cup of tea. But, this book is also a must-read for various reasons.  I kept the book aside for a day before writing this review. Probably because this is the first time I'm reviewing a memoir. Or probably because the book was such a whirlwind of emotions, I needed to take a minute to balance myself. Either way, here I am, reviewing one of the best books I've read this year - If I Had To Tell It Again by Gayathri Prabhu.

Fiction, Short stories

Austenistan – Edited by Laaleen Sukhera #BookReview

First things first, I'm not a classics fan. Yes, the only Jane Austen work I've read is Pride and Prejudice (and I only just managed to finish 66% of the book before putting it away for the dust-mites.) Yet, when I was sent an ARC of Austenistan by the kind people of Bloomsbury India (LOVE YOU SO MUCH!), I felt mildly curious. Would I be able to follow the seven short stories in the anthology, with my crutch of not being acquainted with Austen's works? Seven dazzling and brilliant short stories later, I hold this book with both my hands and a smile on my face: I thoroughly loved Austenistan. And my dear amigos, I may actually give a second chance to Jane Austen.