Christmas Reads, Fiction, Short stories, YA Fiction

My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories #ChristmasReads

Fans of Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman, Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han, Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de la Pena, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Laini Taylor and Kiersten White, rejoice. You can read short stories by your favourite YA authors (specially those of you who have read all the works by the above authors, and are dying to read snippets, quotes, tweets, anecdotes, words, anything from your beloved authors!) 

my true love gave to me (1)

I will be doing a story by story review of this anthology.

  1. Midnight by Rainbow Rowell: Stephanie Perkins made a very wise decision in placing Rowell’s story first. It’s the perfect hook into the collection of stories. And almost every fan of YA Fiction also is a fan of Rainbow Rowell. What’s this story about? How a boy and a girl fall in love over the years, and their love story is depicted via their New Year’s Eve celebrations together.  5/5 stars for this story.
  2. The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link: What’s this story about?  A girl falls in love with a mysterious man, who appears to her only on Christmas Eve, but also fails to appear every Christmas Eve. I liked the wonder and imagination in this story, and the whole “Christmas-time-with-family” vibe of this story. Yet, 3.5/5 stars.
  3. Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Pena: What’s this story about?  A broke boy is minding his own business by cat-sitting for a friend, but ends up falling love with this friend’s neighbour. I loved this story! A typical YA love story, but it was warm and cheesy. 4/5 stars.
  4. Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han: What’s this story about? Santa has adopted a young girl, and she lives with him at the North Pole. But she falls in love with an elf and a human boy simultaneously. Uhh-oh! I liked the elvish vibe of this story, but I didn’t quite like the ending. It felt abrupt, and there could have been more meat towards the end of the story. 3/5 stars.
  5. It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins: What’s this story about? A girl falls in love with a boy who’s family owns the oldest Christmas Tree for Sale Lot. This is a cute love story set in… the Christmas Tree For Sale lot. I loved it for its cheesiness. 4/5 stars.
  6. Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan:  What’s this story about?  A gay boy is forced by his boyfriend to dress up like Santa for the sake of his six year old sister. This story was good, but not quite as good as I would have expected it to be. 3.5/5stars.
  7. Krampuslauf by Holly Black: What’s this story about? Three friends want to host a party for the cool kids of Mossley Academy. Are they successful in their mission(s)? I liked this story, because of the magical ending. But the three friends in the story seemed too YA-idiotic to me. 3/5 stars.
  8. What the Hell Have you Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman: What’s this story about?  Sophie Roth is a girl who always messes things up, or at least she thinks so. Can she not mess things up when a nice boy takes her out for a date on Christmas Eve? Absolutely adored this story. 5/5 stars.
  9. Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire: What’s this story about? A troubled child sets fire to the church barn, and has to do community service on Christmas Eve. I liked this story, because of the main character’s naughtiness vs his love interest’s niceness. 4/5 stars.
  10. Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White: What’s this story about? A girl from a small town feels that her town is too small for her dreams, and waits for the day she graduates to leave town. But that changes when a particular boy enters her life. I loved the character of Ben, the chef in this story. An interesting read about how coming from a small town makes you feel like escaping, but also makes your proud of its quaintness. 5/5 stars.
  11. Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter: What’s this story about? Two girls swap plane tickets. Where do those lane tickets take them? What exactly is one of them running away from?  bit of a bore, a typical YA story with a lot of Christmas lights. 3/5 stars.
  12. The Girl Who Woke The Dreamer by Laini Taylor: What’s this story about? A weird Christmas / wedding tradition, and the rise of an Ancient God. This story seemed way off the theme of this book, and didn’t quite fit the vibe of the anthology. 3/5 stars.

All in all, I give this book 4/5 stars, and recommend it to every lover of YA Fiction. You’re sure to find jewels from your favourite authors, and also end up reading a glimpse of the works of other authors too. This book could also be your guide into YA. If you like a story by an author, you can decide to read other full-length works by that author.

My True Love Gave To Me

~Amateur-Book-Reviewer

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s