Christmas Reads, Fiction, Short stories, YA Fiction

My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories #ChristmasReads

Fans of Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman, Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han, Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de la Pena, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Laini Taylor and Kiersten White, rejoice. You can read short stories by your favourite YA authors (specially those of you who have read all the works by the above authors, and… Continue reading My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories #ChristmasReads

Fiction, Short stories

Austenistan – Edited by Laaleen Sukhera #BookReview

First things first, I'm not a classics fan. Yes, the only Jane Austen work I've read is Pride and Prejudice (and I only just managed to finish 66% of the book before putting it away for the dust-mites.) Yet, when I was sent an ARC of Austenistan by the kind people of Bloomsbury India (LOVE YOU SO MUCH!), I felt mildly curious. Would I be able to follow the seven short stories in the anthology, with my crutch of not being acquainted with Austen's works? Seven dazzling and brilliant short stories later, I hold this book with both my hands and a smile on my face: I thoroughly loved Austenistan. And my dear amigos, I may actually give a second chance to Jane Austen.

Fiction, Indian Fiction, Short stories

Paper Boats in Puddles by Priya Velayudhan #BookReview

Paper boats. The little vehicles we use to drown in our childhood fantasies. The inexpensive mode of travel which can take us to many places, yet bring us back home in time for dinner.  I equate "Paper Boats In Puddles" by Priya Velayudhan to a paper boat. One short story will take you down a memory lane, or should I say 'river', of your past. Another will take you into your supposed sea of the future. Maybe another will take you from narrow stream to big ocean and widen your perspective about things you didn't seem to care for before. Or maybe, a story will caress your heart and make you want more, just like the waves hit the sea shore. "Paper Boats in Puddles" by Priya Velayudhan is a debut collection of 33 short stories. And I must say, I am quite impressed with the depth and thought that each of these stories have.