Christmas Reads, Fiction, Short stories, YA Fiction

My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories #ChristmasReads

Fans of Rainbow Rowell, Gayle Forman, Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han, Holly Black, Ally Carter, Matt de la Pena, David Levithan, Kelly Link, Myra McEntire, Laini Taylor and Kiersten White, rejoice. You can read short stories by your favourite YA authors (specially those of you who have read all the works by the above authors, and… Continue reading My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories #ChristmasReads

Advertisements
Humour, YA Fiction

Clara Voyant by Rachelle Delaney #BookReview

Clara Voyant will be published by Penguin Random House Canada on 15 May 2018, but I can already "predict" that this book will be a really popular YA fiction read. The plot of the book goes like this: Clara and her mother, Gaby, are currently residing in the most weird-coolest places, Kensington Market. Kensington Market is a haven for the free spirits, and also for people like Gaby who wish to "follow their bliss". Clara's grandmother has shifted to Florida, and hence Clara's only connection to a sane relative has gone for a toss.  She starts her middle school year by joining the school newspaper team, Gazette, in order to sharpen her investigative journalistic skills. The Editor, Wesley is the most ambitious girl you'll ever meet. Her plans for the newspaper are designed in a way that will ultimately get her into the best journalism school in the area. And amidst this ambitious drive, Clara gets assigned the most boring task ever - writing horoscopes for the fortnightly newspaper.  What happens next? Clara's 'randomly-put-together' and 'non-scientific' horoscopes actually start becoming true. Now, Clara is a middle school sensation! However, Clara's journalistic and astrological skills are soon put to the test when a mystery unravels in her middle school. Can Clara predict the future and save the day?